More About Me

I am a wife and mother. I have three amazing children. E is 7, we started the adoption process with him when he was almost a month old. M is 9. We started the adoption process with her when she was 5 days old. K is 10. We adopted her when she was 8 years old. Being a mom is the loveliest, craziest most frustrating, and happiest experience. Everyday it shapes who I am as a person and as a professional. I am a behavior analyst, but a mother first. 

I began using Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) to teach children and young adults with autism and other developmental disabilities in home ABA programs in 1996. Since then, I've also used ABA to teach academics to typically developing preschool and elementary school children in school settings, to teach oral language to preschool children with severe hearing impairments (who were using cochlear implants), and to teach the English language to Chinese-speaking children in a Montessori preschool in Taiwan. I received a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas in Human Development (now called Applied Behavioral Sciences) with an emphasis in Behavior Analysis in 1999. I also received a Master’s degree from KU in Human Development (Applied Behavioral Sciences) in 2001. I became a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in 2002. As an independent consulting behavior analyst, I specialize in teaching young children with autism and other developmental disabilities beginning language to conversation and social language skills; social skills; self-help skills; and pre-academic and academic skills. I take great pleasure in teaching others about effective teaching procedures, data management and analysis, and program development and management. I also enjoy providing supervision for BCBA and BCABA candidates.

I love to bake and eat. I love to run, though I haven't been much of a runner lately. Off and on, I try to learn to speak Spanish. That's me in a nutshell... at least the parts I'm willing to share here. :)